2021 vacavillefootball.com TEAMS SCHEDULE HISTORY EVENTS SCHOOL SPIRIT STUDENT ATHLETES/PARENTS CONTACTS ARCHIVES 1960s Tom Zunino was a young, energetic coach who took over the athletic  department and football program in 1961 and began to lay the foundation  for what would become Vacaville Bulldog Football.  Tom believed in student-athletes playing multiple sports, learning to  compete on a daily basis, and being model citizens on and off the field.   By the late 60s, the Bulldogs began to emerge as a local football power.  The Bulldogs earned league championships in 1964, 1966, 1967  and 1968. 1960s record: 48-39-3  Top Team: 1966   8-1 overall  6-0 league outscored opponents 180-63 The Bulldogs football machine was now in full swing. In 1973, the  Bulldogs defeated Christian Brothers 12-0 to win the Sacramento City  Championship (the equivalent of todays SJS Section Championship).   The success continued throughout the 70s as the Bulldogs won three  more league championships and finished no worse than 3rd during  the decade.  The Bulldogs league championship years were 1973, 1976 and 1979. 1970s record: 62-33-4  Top Team: 1973 Sacramento City Champions   9-12overall  4-1 league outscored opponents 238-177 1970s 1966 Vacaville Bulldogs Varsity Team 1973 Vacaville Bulldogs Varsity Team Sacramento City Champions 1980s In 1985, the Bulldogs made their first trip to the SJS Section Championship game.  The Bulldogs suffered a hard fought defeat to arch-rival Rancho Cordova 17-7. The  1985 playoff run was an exciting one as the Bulldogs knocked off Lodi, St. Marys  and Downey (on a last second hook and ladder play.   The Bulldogs only won two MEL Championships during the 80s and made  four playoff appearances.   The MEL Championship years were 1985 and 1989. 1980s record: 62-43-4  Top Team: 1985 SJS Section Runner-Up   11-3 overall  5-1 league outscored opponents 349-198 1985 Vacaville Bulldogs Varsity Team SJS Section Runner-Up 1990s The 1990s was an interesting decade for the Bulldogs. In 1990, the  town of Vacaville was split into two high schools with the opening of  Will C. Wood High.   In 1997, after 37 years of leading the Bulldogs onto the field every  Friday night, Tom Zunino retired as head football coach. He would finish  his coaching career with 215 wins, 26 winning seasons, 10 League  Championships and one Section Championship.  Fred Jones stepped up and continued the Bulldog tradition of success.   The Bulldogs would win two more MEL Championships and make four  more playoff appearances during the 90s.  The Bulldogs MEL Championship years were in 1998 and 1999. 1990s record: 63-34-2  Top Team: 1990 SJS Section Quarter Finals  9-3 overall  6-1 league outscored opponents 343-180
1990 Vacaville Bulldogs Varsity Team SJS Section Quarter Finals
2000s As the new millennium bagan, the Bulldog tradition saw a changing of the guard once  again. In 2003, Fred Jones retired as the Bulldog head coach. He left with a six year  coaching record of 46-18-2, won 3 MEL Championships and took the Bulldogs to  six straight playoff appearances.   Ed Santopadre took over the head coach position for the 2004 season, going 7-3-1, winning  another MEL Championship and another playoff appearance for the Bulldogs. After a  one-year stint, Coach Santopadre moved into the front office as an administrator  and gave way to Mike Papadopoulos.   The 2006 Bulldog football team went on an unprecedented playoff run through Nevada Union,  Sheldon, and Elk Grove. They captured the schools first SJS Section Championship with a  thrilling last second 37-36 win over Merced.   The 2006 team set school records for points scored in a season and most wins  in a single season.   The Bulldogs have won five MEL Championships and been in the playoffs nine out of ten years this  decade, continuing the Bulldog traditions and legacy started 50 years  ago by Coach Z.  The MEL Championship years were 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2009. 2000s record: 84-28-2  Top Team: 2006 SJS Section Champions  13-1 overall  5-0 league outscored opponents 564-263 2006 Vacaville Bulldogs Varsity Team SJS Section Champions 50 years of bulldog football
A decade by decade synopsis of the last 50 years of Bulldog football